Lower Saxony

Lower Saxony’s research policy creates the best possible planning environment for the national and international competitiveness of science. This includes setting thematic priorities and the targeted expansion of selected areas for top-level research.

Lower Saxony’s research landscape is diverse and boasts close cooperation between universities and non-university institutions. It includes 21 state universities, 25 research institutions funded by the Federal Government and the Länder, 17 other research institutions funded by the state, and 5 research institutions funded by the Federal Government, as well as many innovative companies. The Higher Education Development Agreement, which runs until 2021, provides universities in Lower Saxony with a reliable framework for their strategic development as well as financial planning security.